Buying Property in the Famagusta Area?

Hi folks :)

My wife and I have been watching the housing market while waiting to see what happens with Brexit and any impact on retiring to Cyprus

We have noticed that there appear to be some very good deals avaliable on properties in the Famagusta area compared to say Paphos or Polis for example and not sure why this should be the case.

Obviously Fanagusta is pretty close to the disputed border with the north and - especially given the recent actions of Turkey in Syria and also their actions in drilling illegally off the Cyprus coast I was wondering whether it's potentially dangerous to consider purchasing property in the Famagusta area?

Your thoughts and suggestions etc. would be very much appreciated

Thanks

Jim

I have no real experience of the Famagusta area.... but your observation is correct there does seem to be a lot of good deals on property right now ...

I think its always best to go visit and see for your self and then ask the locals get the answers from those who know the area well

All I can say is the area does go very very quiet in the in the winter months but its horses for courses and it may suit

Thanks for the info. Toon

Much appreciated

Jim

Hi again - nobody else on here with any info.?

Thanks

Jim

sadly there are plenty of readers but very few responders

Thanks Toon - dure seems that way unfortunately - not getting any feedback from the other expats forum I posted this on either - perhaps I should post another question just asking for some feedback about the Famagusta area in general as we are interested in what it's like in terms of weather/humidity etc. and where the main expat communities are - scenery etc.?

Jim

I wish i could help you but i live in the paphos district...