Creation of a recruitment agency

Hello everyone,

I would like to have the your opinion on the creation of a recruitment agency au Kenya, an agency specialized in several fields.

I am currently studying Human Resources in Luxembourg. I am preparing a master's degree. After my studies I  would like to come in Kenya and open my own recrutment agengy.

I would  like to have some information about the labour market in Kenya, because I don't know too much about it,  I grew up in France and I think that the Futur is not in Europe but in Africa that why I want to come and do someting in Kenya.

What do you think about my idea??

Regards,

Hi,
Kenya has a high unemployment rate and combined with one of the better education systems on the continent, means lots of graduates and professionals either out of work, or doing low paid work such as driving taxis.  This obviously isn't the case for everyone, but there does appear to be a large surplus of skilled labour.

Over the last few years there has been active recruitment of young Kenyans - often women, to go and work in countries such as Qatar and Dubai.  Little better than modern slavery, these people (driven by the lack of work at home) have their passports retained on arrival and have no choice but to work for a year or more.

Linked to the above, the Kenyan government have been active in reducing the numbers of foreign workers who are perceived to be doing jobs that Kenyans could do.  This has been done by forcing employers to prove that they cannot find the required skill from within the local workforce.  Foreign workers must apply for work permits from their home countries and the whole application process is subject to more scrutiny.