Leather vs fabric sofa / armchairs

I'm refurbishing a sitting room at the moment and trying to decide if it's best to go for leather sofa and armchairs or washable fabric ones.

I've never had leather furniture before - are there special considerations or treatments needed?

Which wears better?

Thank you!

It is a matter of taste and budget. Please do not buy inexpensive leather.

Me like both. But leather is easier to keep clean but can be hot to sit on. I had leather in car but get tired of it after so many years and went back to cloth. But I end of buying vinyl seat covers as I started realize how hard to clean the cloth as I am a landscaper.  Remember being told get covers. As hard to clean.  For anything messy best get covers. But leather is expensive as comes from animal skins. Plus may feel little bad where leather comes from. If leather kept inside it's better. Like if ever sat on leather in car on a summer day. Reason I had a cloth sheet. In a home totally different. That's always a hard choice when like both. But should match. Or I think buy one of each.

There are differences with durability with both. I had both types. Leather more stain resistant.

If you have a dog, you might want to avoid leather. I've seen dog claws put  scratches and even gouges in the leather. Leather wears very well, but if you're going to be in a very hot climate, it may not be as comfortable to lie on as fabric on extremely hot days if you don't have air conditioning.
I would put money into a good quality sofa regardless of the fabric you decide on because inexpensive ones don't look good after a few years and you'll end up buying another one many years sooner than if you bought a good one in the first place. The comfort factor is also much better in good quality sofas, both in the short term and the long term.

Fashavian wrote:

I'm refurbishing a sitting room at the moment and trying to decide if it's best to go for leather sofa and armchairs or washable fabric ones.