U.S. veterans living in Vietnam

Hey out there.

I am in Quy Nhon.  Been here a week and I am still lost.
I have a decent-enough room in a small hotel near the beach, am renting a small Honda that runs, though no one has been taking care of maintenance on it and trying to study Vietnamese
on the online courses and Youtube.

I studied Vietnamese at the school in Monterey 50 years ago, prior to going to I Corps. I have found that people speak differently than I remember - even the phrase for "Hello" is different.
ANd of course my accent is off.  Ordering a meal is more than a challenge.

Just joined this ex-pat forum a few weeks ago, while I was in Thailand. I see that threads are out of
date.
So I am attempting to re-open this thread - to communicate with other veterans and get help
getting acculturated.

Looking forward to hearing (reading ?) from y'all, and possibly meeting for a cup of coffee if you
are nearby.

I live in QN and can probably help out a bit. Send me a PM and we'll chat offline

Mark

Gia-na-dai wrote:

Hey out there.

I have a decent-enough room in a small hotel near the beach, am renting a small Honda that runs, though no one has been taking care of maintenance on it and trying to study Vietnamese

I studied Vietnamese at the school in Monterey 50 years ago, prior to going to I Corps. I have found that people speak differently than I remember - even the phrase for "Hello" is different.

Just joined this ex-pat forum a few weeks ago, while I was in Thailand. I see that threads are out of
date.
So I am attempting to re-open this thread
- to communicate with other veterans and get help
getting acculturated.

Looking forward to hearing (reading ?) from y'all, and possibly meeting for a cup of coffee if you
are nearby.

Don't know what you mean about "threads are out of date".

The threads where you were previously posting are:

https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=832038

and

https://www.expat.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=806848