Visa Options

Hi All
I am intending to live in PP for approx 12 months,  I will want to rent long term, so given that,  I wont be able to do that on a tourist visa from what I have read. 
I am not really looking to work or start a business so will I still  be able to obtain a business visa so I can stay this length of time?
What are my  options, or do I just say I am a freelancer and enter under that pretext so I can apply for a business visa, any advice would be greatly appreciated.
thanks
Kaye

Hello Kaye.

Not worth to get through the process of being a registered freelancer, but also not possible to have a business extension of stay when you're not working.

The best option is you come in on a Ordinary visa, valid 30 days.
As soon as you are settled but within two weeks you go to an agent and apply for a EG [general] extension of stay, for max. six months. After that you will have to leave the country but can come back and do the same again.
That would be a total of 14 months, so it covers your one year stay.

If you would be 55 or older you could easily get a retirement extension of stay, for a year. Even if under 55 you can apply for this but you need to proof your retirement status [e.g. disability pension] and you will have to proof income from outside the country.

Last option is a student extension of stay [ES], for which you have to be enlisted at a registered educational institute. ES is also for one year max.

Hope this helps.

Cheers.

Joe
Cambodia expert
Expat.com team

Thank you for your reply Joe, I am 55 so maybe the retirement visa will be my best option.  I assume this will totally exclude me from working in any way whatsover if I go down this route?  I dont intend to work at this stage, but maybe further down the line volunteering or part time work of some sort might be a consideration.
Appreciate your advice.