New members of the Russia forum, introduce yourselves here - 2018

Hi all,

Newbie on the Russia forum? Don't know how to start?

This thread is for you ;)

We invite you to introduce yourself on this topic, to share with us your expat story if you are already living in the country, or to tell us more on your expat projects in Russia if you are planning to move there.

It will enable us to help you better but above all to wish you a warm welcome.

Welcome on board!

Hello! I am currently in my last year of my four year BSN (bachelor of science in nursing) program at Indiana University in Indianapolis. I will be sitting for my NCLEX-RN exam to receive my registered nursing licence. This career is something I would like to carry over into my expat project. I also recently obtained TEFL certification, because teaching English is a second option for me in Russia. I have wanted to move to Russia for at least three years now, and have been teaching myself the language through Rosetta Stone and simple immersion. I have done fairly well with no teacher, but I still struggle with translating/understanding what a native Russian speaker is saying when they're talking quickly. I am able to read Russian with little effort, and it's becoming more natural for me to write in that language. There's also a small Russian community near me, and I try to practice my Russian at least 3 times a week with a native speaker. Before I apply for a licensure in Russia, I would like to be completely fluently and confident in speaking Russian. At this rate, I'm realistically planning to move to Russia in about 2 years, and would like to stay for at least a year. It's always a bit difficult to live in the Midwest, because they look at me like I'm insane when I say I want to move to Russia. And to be fair, I'm not completely sure why I love it so much. It probably has something to do with my admiration for Leo Tolstoy! The most important thing on my bucket list is to see Yasnaya Polyana. I also hav