Districts of Saigon

Hello!
I am planning on moving to Saigon next June and wanted to get a little more information about the various districts. I am a 31 year old teacher, looking to teach English in Vietnam. I am not looking to be super close to all the nightlife but wouldn't like to be so far out from the city. What districts would you recommend for someone looking for a genuine Vietnamese experience but also with some of the comforts of home? I don't want to be secluded but also don't want to be in the center of all the action. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Hello Louder86,

HCMC (Saigon) is a big city with as many as 18-20 districts (could be more). Some districts cover large areas as well.

IMO, much depends on where your school is located.
Most teachers try to find accommodations not too far from their workplaces.

Traffic in this city is horrendous, especially in the office hours. Even city authorities are at a loss to find a long-term solution to this mess.
35 solutions proposed to tackle Ho Chi Minh City traffic congestion

Dist. 1, 2, 7 ... these are so-called expat areas where you can prolly access all western amenities, nightlife etc.

Some expats choose to stay in Dist. 8, 9, 11, 12 and Thu Duc district ... which are all bit out of the way and I suspect not many good English language schools are there.

I'd suggest you stay in one of the central districts, somewhere in Phu Nhuan, Binh Thanh, Go Vap or Tan Binh. There are good language schools in those districts and they are not far from Dist. 1.

These are very Vietnamese areas and you can still find almost everything you need. ... nice coffee shops, restaurants, hospitals, supermarkets etc.... even busy local markets as well. 
Again, since a lot traffic passes through these central districts everyday, air pollution could be high.
If you find an accommodation in any of these districts, try to get one inside an alley, little far from those busy thoroughfares.