Getting Married While Waiting For Fiancé Visa (I Am in Norway)

Hi, Everybody...

I am originally Indonesian citizen but I am an Italian permanent resident. My Fiancé and I submitted the application for Fiancé Visa in the end of February this year. Being an EU permanent resident and having the qualification as skilled worker, UDI said that I could stay in Norway while waiting for my visa to be processed, which was what I did.

The website mentioned that the waiting time was 4 months, but so far we've been only receiving e-mails from UDI telling us that our application is still waiting to be processed. To cut the story short, we are fed up with all this uncertain amount of waiting time and decided that we would just get married.

We will call UDI tomorrow to ask for more informations, but I would also love to hear from anyone who has been in the same boat as I am. LOL! Thank you so much!

Hi AutumnRevoir, I have been reading errr a lot here in the forum and so far the waiting game really varies from one case to another. I am also in almost in the same boat (family reunification though) in this waiting process. Have you checked the udi application portal for the status there?

Norway nothings works July and the backlogs pile up. Nothing much to do but be patient.

Yes because it's summer vacation and they are naturally slow lol 😂

Hi. My situation is similar to yours. My fiance and I submitted our application to the UDI in January it took longer than 4 months but leading up to their decision I would receive a generic response monthly on the date we submitted the application to say the application is being processed. My wedding is scheduled for August 26 but the tax office won't accept my no-impediment certificate from my country which indicates that I'm single after they had it for 2 weeks even though the UDI accepted it. The government offices seem to be on go slow during the summer or so I've been told.

Frustrated 😩