Recognition of foreign qualifications in France

Hello everyone,

Were your professional qualifications recognised in France? What country did you complete your qualifications in? What profession are you in?

Did you have to go through any formalities to get your qualifications recognised, such as to have them translated?

If your qualifications weren't recognised, were there any additional tests or exams you had to complete before you were able to practice your profession in France or continue with your studies?

Thank you for sharing your thoughts.

Priscilla

Hi Priscilla,

I have a Masters degree in operational research (a branch of applied maths used to optimise the running of businesses, amongst other things... Yawn  ;) )...
Anyhow, that got me out of doing the Stage with the Chambre de Métiers when I registered as an independent Artisan.

My OH is a UK qualified electrician, and although nothing could get him out of the Stage, I translated his qualifications myself - I am a translator but not certified or assermentée - and they were accepted by the Chambre de Métiers in 2007.

Regards,
Jo-Ann

Hello
I am really sad to tell that my integration in Rennes is very difficult.My experience in the bar/restaurant domain means nothing here , because my level of french.I feel rejected and I'm looking forward to find whatever kind of job to gain some money and move in another country.I admire the development of the social structure but I think it's too slow , not really connected with the people and favouriting certain groups.
In general I'm pleased ,but I prefer to go and learn another language, because France is not my place.Too cold, too distant.

Hi,