What do you do to make money to live in Mexico?

Just curious to see what everyone does to earn money that allows you to live in Mexico?

Online job or live on Social Security. Most folks retired

Hi, to live in Mexico there are various ways.

1- working foreigners are normally employed via there actual employer.
2- self-employment via internet only
3- legal investors in restaurants or other areas
4- legal resident with a small business "pequeño negocio"
5- temporary/permanent resident registered as "pensionados" retired foreigners complying with the legal conditions

Also, there are some illegal workers or foreigners renting palapas, restaurants or bungalows (subrental) from mexican and those foreigners renting there houses/apartment...Those are not in our list of visits or recommandations.

Adios, GyC.

I have found it very difficult to obtain the right credentials to work here in Mexico.  Working on line for a US company seems to be your best bet

I am rather new in Mexico, but ran a small chocolate salon in NZ and AU. Can one create a successful small business here? I am thinking of a restaurant, cafe, B&B etc. Why so many foreigners subrent these illegally in Mexico?

Laws are strict for starting your own business.  Check on line.  You start with an attorney

Yes , they are pretty particular about that, but if you might be hiring Mexicans for your business it should get easier. That is their main concern, are you adding to, or taking away from their economy. When I first moved here a government agency came out 3 months in a row to just see if I still lived here and if I worked here.

If I had said yes, the next series of questions would probably be, is it a job that could be done by a local. I don't know that for sure, but given that the questions were employment oriented I suspect so. Of course they would not say can your job be done by a local, but the questions would aim that way.