Job - International teaching position

Hi
Hi I am a secondary school science teacher in the UK and am looking at working in Quito at an english speaking international school. Does anyone know what the average qualified teachers salary is in Quito? The job application just says competitive. also is there an expat community in Quito, would not being able to speak Spanish at the start really limit my experience there?
thanks

Hi there,
I am also an English Teacher.
There are some international schools in Quito. You can google them and apply for a teaching position; but, based on my experience, I recommend that you also go there in person as it usually takes time to have an answer.

Please feel free to contact me if you need any assistance.
I am also a Spanish Teacher as a tutor so if you'd like to learn Spanish, I can teach you.

Best,
Shima

Shima86 wrote:

I recommend that you go there in person as it usually takes time to have an answer.

By all means, arrange a personal visit. 

Not because it takes time to get an answer .. but because you'll want to see the school in person .. and they'll want to meet you before serious consideration of your application.

There might be a rare occasion where a super-qualified teaching candidate connects with a school desperate for his/her skills .. and they meet via Skype.

But the reality is .. anybody who thinks they can get hired by an Ecuador school via long distance .. is simply dreaming.

cccmedia

Dear Leekelley and Shima,