Current employment and housing on the island

So, I have been reading all of the threads on this site. It has been very informative, to say the least. I am finding that many of the topics have not been commented on for a period of a couple of years. I did read the NY Times article about the dire economic condition in PR. That said, we are still planning our first visit in January. We would like to follow this up with a second one in February.

We are both working in the culinary field. This includes everything from cooking to management. we also both have retail experience ( I am currently a manager at Whole Foods). I see there are many 'big box' stores on the island. Do they hire non-natives for these positions? What about private chef opportunities? I have been a chef instructor for a top school in the states. I also see there are potential virtual customer service opportunities that just require a laptop and phone. I have never had a problem finding a job before. While a reality check is good, I did find that some people were very clear about moving there being a nightmare because of everything from finding a job to dealing with the utility companies. We have found that because we are friendly, open people that truly try to expand our horizons, that we naturally meet the right people to accentuate our experiences.

We should have enough money to get us there and cover expenses for about a year. Neither of us is fluent in spanish. I know a bit. We plan on taking immersion when we get there. I know full well that life on the island will not be anything like the US. That is part of the attraction for us.