PR Visa holder - how to overcome local experience seeking a job

Hi,

I am Yaron, I have been in Adelaide since August 3rd, 2016, as a PR visa holder.

I am an experienced IT Manager / Systems Administrator - with over 25 years of experience. There is no doubt I can do any IT job, and I have applied to many positions, still getting rejected replies.

I am finding it hard to pass the need for local experience...employers here are seeking, I would appreciate any tips :) from expats here who managed to get their first job.

Cheers,
Yaron.

Hi Fonzy,

I am facing the same issue as you. This are some readings I found online and I hope that might help you in finding your first Australian job:

Don't expect a job at the same level or higher than you had overseas. You may lack Australian local knowledge and may need to take a step back in order to advance later. Wait one year.
From: http://www.migrationnews.com/australia/how_to_get_a_job
In other words accept lower package payment or junior positions.

Employers appear worried about the communication skills of skilled immigrants.
From: https://perthrelocationlatestnews.wordp … australia/
Explained that you have IELTS or any other International English Certificate and add that you have previous experience working in an international company.

I have read somewhere that it is easier to get a job in Government as an immigrant. Not sure if it is true or not.
I would suggest to volunteer in your profession. You can look on seek.com. That could give you an exposure to the Australian way of working.

I wish you the very best of luck in your job search!
Iva

Hi ivonaanovi ,

I know about all that you have provided in your reply.

The only solution I found here, was to start communicating, socializing and connect with people, and I have achieved connections that have created recommendations, and opportunities.

I have been to an Interview (my first one) since 3 months, and have more meetings still scheduled.