Gyms in Budapest

Hello!

I am new to Budapest, and I have managed to get most things sorted out, except for finding a gym.  Could people recommend a good gym to me?  I am living in the 6th district, near the Oktogon and I am working downtown, so anywhere near those areas would be great. I don't mind it if it (a little bit!) expensive, as long as it is nice and has good cardio/group classes, but I don't want to spend too much of course :)

I've googled gyms in Budapest, but many of the webpages are in Hungarian.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Hi Margle

I searched high and low for a suitable gym and it is hard!

I know of a very nice one near Octagon.  Not sure if I can mention name and location re advertiseing rules. Can tell you a bit about it then if you are interested you can send me a message.

Pros
Very clean with nice equiptment.  Friendly English speaking staff (including very good trainers). Nice members many of whom are expats and speak English. TV screen on cardio eqpt has a few English channels - not great selection but better than nothing!  Small so never busy. Nice swiming pool, jacuzzi and steam room/sauna.  Can pay monthly so not tied into a contract

Cons
No classes if you like those - though there may be pilates and yoga. There used to be these classes but I haven't asked about them in a while.  A bit expensive :(

This sounds great!  The biggest pro for me has to be how close it is to home.  God knows I won't make myself go if it's too far a walk in the cold, cold winter. :)

I have your email now and you have mine, so if you can share the name of it, I'll check it out this evening.

If you are at Octagon it is in a side street and a few minutes walk.  Will send you a message!

Margle wrote:

Hello!