Looking volunteer work in rio de janeiro or other cities in brazil

Hello, irish guy here who is considering coming out to brazil for some volunteer work in 2013/14 and also to learn the language. I work in construction and boat building but wanting to take some time out for a few months or maybe 1 years to help people in need in brazil. I honestly dont know where to start looking or even if brazil is looking volunteers but i thought id join here and see if theres anything going.

Hello irishguy1888.

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

You could post an advert in the Jobs in Rio de Janeiro section - Social category (Volunteering). It may help.

Thank you,
Aurélie

i will do this now, thank you. Im sitting here wondering how much money ill need weekly to survive in brazil. Have you any idea's of what a single guy would need weekly there.

Hello irishguy1888.

I don't but you should browse the other threads on the Rio de Janeiro. It could help. :)

If you have specific questions, do not hesitate to ask them.

Thank you,
Aurélie

Hi,
i decided to immigrate to Brazil and i want to know the price of home or an apartment in Rio de janeiro.and please help me how can i find a good job in Rio?.
i am 22 years old and i studied computer engineering(hard ware)
i know English and i am learning Germany too.
i would be happy if so answers me.

Hi Irishguy, I came from Ireland on a volunteer project my first trip too so hopefully can help! There is a group called IKO Poran who work with a number of local community projects you could check out as a place to start;  facebook.com/groups/ikoporan/members/
They sometimes run projects to build new houses for favela communities in the city which might be of interest given your background. Let me know if you have any more questions and I will try help!