Cost of Applying for PR

Hi My name is John and I am originally from the UK but currently living and working in Indonesia. My wife and I are planning to retire to Malta in March of next year but were told that the cost of application and processing of documents for PR status could be as much as 12000 Euros. This seems incredibly high. Can someone please tell me if this is correct? I have looked in detail at the appication procedure and the requirements and find it difficult to believe that it can be so expensive. I would very much appreciate some guidance and feedback on others experiences.

Regards

John

Hi John ,

as I am not a registered lawyer in Malta I can not give you any legal advice  but the questions you adress are as to where you want to live and pay taxes on your income.If you are a EU citizen you can take your temporary or permanent residency anywhere in the European Union .There are no special fees for applying but you will be paying certain amounts of taxes on your income that has to be remitted to Malta depending on resident status.The amount is capped at 15 or 35 % of your income depending on your resident status .
What is better depends on your income .

Regards

Ricky

Hi Ricky,

Thanks for your quick response. My concern is not so much to do with the tax issue but more to do with the actual cost of applying for a processing the application for PR. The quotation I received for 12,000 Euros was purely to carryout this process which appears to be no more than gathering various documentation and completing a number of forms. I am sure that this may be time consuming but it seems a great deal of money for what appears to be a very simple task.

Regards

John

Hi John,

it is certainly not to difficult to do it yourself ! I presume you have a UK passport!

Check out the details on the gov.mt website ( here are some infos) :

Economically self-sufficient persons

An EU national does not necessarily have to
work while s/he is living in Malta. However in