University of Malta

Hi,
I'm new to this and I'm not really sure whether this is an appropriate forum to ask on, but I'll give it a go. I've just finished my alevels and am currently taking a gap year with a mind to study in Malta. There are a number of reasons why but since the increase in British fees I'm more sure than ever that this would be the best opportunity for me. I'm also taking a TEFL course this year in the hope of getting a job whilst out there, and I wondered how likely I would be to get a job teaching English. I looking for about 20 hours per week- if this will give me enough to live on- maybe more in the summer when things get busy. Also, roughly what wages are, also I'm planning on moving into private accomodation in Msida so wondered if I would be able to get more money as often they provide accomodation. I hope that doesn't sound too rude.
I am actually from Malta, born there and I have citizenship so I don't know if this would make anything easier, but I wonder what everyday life is like and the university itself mainly what are the differences between British unis and Malta; academically, socially and what is expected? I do achieve high grades academically so I'm prepared to put in the work, but I wonder whether in the future if I choose to move back to Britain if a qualification from Malta will be accepted. Also,
Lastly, when I move over I'd like to buy a moped to get me around, is this a good idea or would a decent secondhand moped cost too much?
If anyone can answer these questions that would be lovely, I've looked through some other posts but haven't found quite what I'm looking for.
Thank you

Hi Booklover19,

welcome to the forum.

I can't really comment on the University issues and how a Maltese degree will affect your career.

I'm not quite sure what you mean with the providing accomodation? I've never heard of that. A shared room can start from around 200 €/month and a small appartment quite a bit more.