I am planning on moving to San Miguel de Allende

Hello. My name is Marina and I am 34 years old and from Chicago, IL. My fiance and I are planning on moving to a nearby rural area of San Miguel de Allende in about a year and a half. I am a social worker here in Chicago. I am in the process of learning Spanish and trying to figure out how to make a life for myself in Mexico. I visited San Miguel de Allende two summers ago and very much enjoyed it. I have only ever lived in Chicago and I think moving is going to be difficult, but I would like to try to ease into it little by little. I think I am going to visit again next month...

Hi Marina !

Welcome to Expat.com!

Armand

Marinaga wrote:

Hello. My name is Marina and I am 34 years old and from Chicago, IL. My fiance and I are planning on moving to a nearby rural area of San Miguel de Allende in about a year and a half. I am a social worker here in Chicago. I am in the process of learning Spanish and trying to figure out how to make a life for myself in Mexico. I visited San Miguel de Allende two summers ago and very much enjoyed it. I have only ever lived in Chicago and I think moving is going to be difficult, but I would like to try to ease into it little by little. I think I am going to visit again next month...

Hey Marinaga

Have you moved ?

Welcome,Marina!

Perhaps you won't find the move difficult at all once you've settled in down here.  Your skills as a social worker are needed.  Do you plan to work?

Saludos,
jax in san miguel de allende

Thank you for your warm welcome! Yes, I would love to work in my field! Unfortunately, I don't speak fluent Spanish--at least not yet--for this reason, I plan to try to find work as a therapist with the English speaking population and when I can speak Spanish more fluently, I would like to work with the Native population in a social work role. I would like to learn Spanish first and then begin to volunteer with the Mexican population at a social service-type agency.