Successful job interview in Puerto Rico

Hi,

passing a job interview in Puerto Rico can be a stressful moment, especially you are not familiar with the cultural and professional codes of the country.

How to successfully pass a job interview in Puerto Rico ?

What happens during the interview ?

What are the do's and don'ts during a job interview in Puerto Rico : what to say or not, what to wear, how to behave ?

Thank you in advance for sharing your experience with us !

Julie

You do realize PuertoRico is part of the USA? Interviews and resumes are standard...if you are applying for a teaching job....dress the part.  If you are applying in a hotel or pharma dress the same way you would in new york. We do nit we
ar pastels or white shoes; dress to impress always!

To expatter12-  I have no personal experience in job application here. Obviously it would be to your advantage if you speak Spanish. Although many people here do speak a reasonable amount of English, they will always feel more comfortable with you if they know you speak their language. Based on what others have told me that came here to work or are from here, you can probably expect to get paid less compared to what you got in the states for comparable work. As others have said, just remember the basics. Dress appropriately and do most of those things you would normally do. Above all, show up on time. And yes, electricity and food are very expensive. But don't let that discourage you. Just be very mindful of it and factor it into any decision you make. Even though PR is part of the states, living here will in fact be totally different than in the states. Expect to make many adjustments and you will be ahead of the game. Just remember to practice a little more patience here in order to get anything done. Best of luck in your job search and please keep us posted.

Gregg

As stated above, the application process, including interviewing, is the same as it is in the States.