Moving to Malta

Hiiiii,
There's a good possibility that we may be moving to Malta from the UK.
I've read quite a bit about it but would love to hear real accounts! I have 2 small boys(1 and 3 years)and obviously need to consider their needs too. Any information would be HUGELY welcome. I am also a teacher (primary) so any info regarding this would be fabulous too.
Thank you v much!

Hi Shinysarah,

welcome to our forum.

Here is a link to a past tender for teachers in the Maltese school system so you can see the requirements and procedure to apply:

http://doi.gov.mt/en/employment_opp/3105c.asp

The main stumbling block is the ability to speak Maltese. All cerificates and diplomas that are not from Malta need to be recognized by the a commission in the DES.

I think  the teachers at private schools also need to speak Maltese but I'm not sure and could ask a friend who teaches at one if you are interested.

There are also teachers at the various international schools who would not need to speak Maltese and at language schools.

Cheers
Ricky

Hi Ricky,
Thanks so much for your response.  That'd be very helpful if you could ask your friend re speaking maltese as that would be a major problem!!!!

I'll have a look at the link now

Thanks again!

Hi ,
I just talked to my Maltese private teacher friend.

She says that a foreign teaching degree would have to be recognized by the DES .Whether you would actually be required to be able to speak Maltese could depend on your school. I think she was saying that without Maltese your chances are quite low. Even for private schools.

That would leave the international schools ......

Cheers
Ricky

Hi Ricky,
Thanks ever so much. I've had a look at the link which has given me some more information.
My concern is that the international schools would not follow the british curriculum?
Thanks again
Sarah

Hi Sarah,