Residencia in Uruguay

I am from the UK and currently live in Portugal as a permanent resident, I spent a month in Uruguay in November 2022 and was wondering how difficult is it to get a residency visa there. Many thanks

Hi Itoby. Clean criminal record and proof you can provide for yourself.

Ok, I have been living in Portugal for 8 years so is it just a criminal record from here?

@uru_guy passport, a criminal record is fine, healthcare insurance, what will be accepted there? also, do you need to have a rental contract and tax number there before you start the process? Many thanks

@ltoby955 It's pretty simple if you have all your papers in order. You will need apostilled and translated birth certificate, police clearance and an income of more than US$1,500 per month. You have to enter as a tourist and seek residency here, starting the process before your tourist visa extension expires. That is, you get 90 days when you enter then you extend it by another 90 at the immigration office. You also have to buy a property for at least US$100,000 or buy $100,000 of government debt.

@ltoby955 Hi Itoby, no rental contract required. You will need a tax number (cedula de identidad). Can't remember the exact conditions regarding criminal record but it is worth the $1,500 to have someone hold your hand through the process because if you screw it up you'll have to start over from scratch. You can also live here as a tourist for as long as you like which is a good way to get to know the place and decide if you want to make the permanent plunge, the only caveat being you have to leave the country every 6 months to come back in with a fresh stamp on your passport.

@uru_guy A weekend in Buenos Aires every 6 months is no hardship. Re the criminal record check, it has to be issued with 6 months of entry to Uruguay. Itoby will need one from the UK and Portugal or Europol.