The Australian E-visitor visa requirements

E-visitor visa in Australia
Updated 2019-07-26 14:23

If you are looking to come to Australia and wish to visit as many times within a 12-month period, the eVisitor visa is the best option. However, please keep in mind that this visa is only for those who hold a passport from a particular country. However, if you aren't eligible for this visa, there are plenty more tourist visas to allow you to visit Australia.

Applicants must be outside Australia when they apply for this visa. As it is applied for and granted electronically, the visa approval will be stored online and will be tied to your passport number. Australian immigration officials, airlines, and travel agencies will be able to view your visa status online so that they are aware a visa has been granted. You will also receive a confirmation email once the visa has been granted, for your own records.

There is no application charge to apply for the eVisitor visa. Applicants must make sure they have their own health insurance for their stay in Australia, and they must meet the health requirements to enter, which includes being free of tuberculosis. You will also need to meet the character requirements which will eliminate you if you hold a substantial criminal record or have been convicted of escaping from immigration detention. If applicants do have any criminal conviction in another country, it might be more appropriate to apply for the Visitor visa (subclass 600), rather than an eVisitor. Applicants must also not have any outstanding debts to the Australian government and must have proof of enough money to support them while they are here.

This visa type allows you to enter Australia for up to three months at a time, for a 12-month period, as a holiday or to visit friends and family and is processed generally, in one day. If you are travelling with family, each person travelling must have their own visa, including children under the age of 18. This visa also holds that the applicant does not work in Australia other than by engaging in a business visitor activity, and the applicant is not allowed to, if they choose to, study longer than three months.

Passport holders of the following countries are eligible to apply for this visa:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Republic of San Marino
  • Slovak Republic
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom ' British Citizen
  • Vatican City

You cannot apply with:

a non-citizen passport, certificate of identity or other travel document
a British National Overseas, British Dependent Territories Citizen, British Overseas Citizen, British Protected Person or British Subject passport

If your country is not eligible for the eVisitor visa, you can explore your visa options on the Department of Home Affairs, Immigration and citizenship webpage. If you are already in Australia but need to extend your stay, consult the Department of Immigration regarding what visa types might apply to your situation.

We do our best to provide accurate and up to date information. However, if you have noticed any inaccuracies in this article, please let us know in the comments section below.