Working Holiday Visa for Taiwan

Updated 2015-07-17 12:29

Spend a whole year in Taiwan thanks to the Taiwan Working Holiday Visa and enjoy being immersed in Taiwan culture while having a professional experience.

The Taiwan Working Holiday Visa (WHV) allows young foreigners from Australia, Austria, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, Republic of Korea, United-Kingdom (and Belgium) to spend a whole year in the country, working abroad while enjoying Taiwanese culture and traditions. If you come from one of these destinations, be sure to benefit from a new intense professional and cultural experience beyond the frontiers of your country of residence.


To be eligible for the Taiwan WHV you must:

  • be a citizen from contracting countries
  • be between 18 and 30 years old, both inclusive, at the time of application
  • if you are a national from Canada, Hungary and Slovakia, you must be between 18 and 35 years old
  • move to Taiwan with the primary touristic and cultural intention
  • not having benefited from the Taiwan WHV yet
  • not be accompanied
  • have a sum of at least NT$ 100,000 or an equivalent amount of foreign currency in order to cater for your needs throughout your stay.


Conditions concerning the Taiwan WHV vary depending on the contracting country you come from.

Your Taiwan WHV is available for 12 months with an initial duration of stay of 180 days that can be extended for another 180 days until the end of the validity of the visa. The Taiwan WHV is not renewable. You have to ask for the extension of your visa 15 days prior to the planned date of departure from Taiwan.

Be careful:

For Austrian nationals, the validity of the Taiwan WHV is up to 180 days and is NOT extendable. For UK citizens, the single-entry resident visa is valid for 3 months and is NOT extendable.

All contracting countries nationals are not permitted to engage in permanent employment but they are allowed to engage for temporary employment. German citizens are also allowed to work but not for the entire year.

Foreign nationals from Germany, Hungary and New Zealand are not allowed to work for the same employer for more than 3 months.

Some foreign citizens are permitted to undertake courses in Taiwan during the Working Holiday program:

  • Austrian, Canadian, German, Irish, Korean and UK citizens are allowed to engage in any training and study in the country.
  • Australian citizens may enroll any study course of up to 4 months duration.
  • Hungary nationals and New Zealand nationals are not allowed to undertake any formal course other than Chinese language course up to 3 months.
  • Slovak citizens are not allowed to engage in any study or training for more than 6 months
  • Polish citizens are NOT eligible for engaging in any study or training in the country.

How to proceed

You must submit your application to the Taipei representative office in your country of residence. Applying in person is mandatory for almost all contracting countries citizens except for Australian, Canadian, German, New Zealand and UK nationals who can send their application by post.

You must provide a list of important documentation:

  • the WHV application form duly completed, printed out and signed (UK nationals must add an application form for the Young Mobility Scheme-Working Holiday Scheme Approval letter)
  • a valid passport from the day the visa is issued and which must be available for 12 months upon arrival (Slovakian nationals must hold a valid passport for more than 18 months after the date of visa issuing; Polish passports must have been issued not earlier than 10 years before applying, must contain at least 2 blank pages and must be valid at least 90 days after planned leaving date)
  • 2 two-inch color passport photos taken within 6 months prior to application
  • proof of overseas travel health insurance for the duration of stay
  • one valid medical and hospitalization insurance
  • proof of a return flight ticket or sufficient funds to buy one
  • proof of sufficient financial means to cater for your needs during the whole stay.

Foreign nationals from Hungary, Ireland, Poland and Slovakia have to add a non-criminal record to the application file.

Australian, Canadian, South Korean, New Zealand and UK nationals also have to provide a medical report issued within the past 3 months.

Be careful:

Foreign nationals from Austria, Canada, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Poland, Slovakia and the UK must pay a non-refundable visa-processing fee which varies depending on the countries.


UK Youth mobility Scheme (YMS-Working holiday Scheme) residents must apply for an Alien Resident Certificate (ARC) and a re-entry permit at local service centers of the National Immigration Agency within 15 days starting from the day after the date of entry in Taiwan.

The processing time to obtain the WHV may vary depending on the Taipei representative offices.

Useful address:

Bureau of consular affairs, Ministry of foreign affairs, Republic of China Taiwan
3~5 Fl, 2-2 Chi-Nan Rd, Sec 1
Taipei City, 10051
ROC (Taiwan)

Useful link:

Bureau of consular affairs, Ministry of foreign affairs, Republic of China Taiwan

We do our best to provide accurate and up to date information. However, if you have noticed any inaccuracies in this article, please let us know in the comments section below.