Living in the Democratic Republic of Congo guide for expats

All the information you need to relocate and live in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

Our selection of articles for expatriation in the Democratic Republic of Congo

Air and water transport in the Congo


Rail transport in the Congo

Three networks runs railways in the Congo:

About the Democratic Republic of Congo

The climate of the DRC is tropical, with slight variations between the north and south of the country. In general, expect warm year-round temperatures of around 30°C. Droughts are not uncommon in the south; on the other hand, areas along the Congo River can experience flooding.

The Democratic Republic of Congo has a history marred by conflict and corruption. Even though peace prevails now, the presence of the United Nation's peacekeeping mission in the DRC is one of the strongest in the world.

The landscape, however, has remained all but unharmed from the years of conflict ' the winding rivers still run as fast, the gorillas trail through the mountains, and the rainforest provides a home to thousands of birds and animals.

The people of the DRC come from 200 different ethnic groups, and the impressive number of about 250 languages and dialects is spoken throughout this vast country. The capital city of Kinshasa is the second largest French-speaking city in the world, after Paris.

Despite the country's abundance of natural resources (especially oil), the DRC has a weak economy, mainly due to the systemic corruption, which has stalled economic growth.

Quick Information

Capital : Kinshasa
Official Languages : French , Lingala , Kongo
Currency : Franc
Area : 2345410 Km2
Population : 70916439
Calling Code : +243

Democratic Republic of Congo city guide

Share your Expat Experience in the Guide

As an member you can share your own experience about your expatriation by writing some articles in the Expat Guide.
Formalities, Visas, Work, Bank. Share your tips or your knowledges about the new country where you chose to live, or about your own country.