Considering moving to bordeaux or near bordeaux area

Hi all, i am new to this forum but would appreciate any advice about moving to France.  I am a qualified nursery nurse and speak only english and my husband is a carpenter who has very little english.  We have 3 children aged 6,5 and 11 months old.  we have looked into the international school in bordeaux and i feel that it is important that they intergrate with other french speaking children but also want to do it gently.  I am sure they will be teaching me the language before i know it.  My husband and i are keen to learn the language and are going to get a tutor in to help us before we move. 

I am a little scared about leaving England, as it is all i have known and will miss my family and friends dearly but feel it would be a better life for myself and my family in the long run. 

Look forward to hearing from you guys soon

Francesca xxxx

Hi Francesca !

Welcome to Expat.com :)

Armand

Hi Francesca,

I made the plunge 8 weeks ago, after years of discussion with my husband. I took have an amazing family at home and a big group of friends that I do miss dearly, but after 8 weeks here, I think I can safely say that life will be better here and the children will have such a wonderful life, as will we.  I am lucky, my husband is French so I do have an advantage on an English couple coming here to live - and he has been wonderful and taken on all the French admin himself.  That in itself is probably a bigger hurdle than learning the language and I would definitely do the research on what you will need to do upon arrival.  There is a great book that will help you both, it's called "LIving and Working in France" by David Hampshire - I think it's worth getting.