Absentee Voting (WI, USA)

Hello Folks!

Seeking one American citizen living south of Stuttgart!

I am a former Wisconsin resident, and I have my ballot for the upcoming election ready to fill out. However, Wisconsin requires me to have an adult US citizen witness me filling out the ballot and sign a certification (and provide his/her address). I have to mail both my ballot and the witness' certification together.

My problem is this: I do not know any Americans living anywhere near me! (I live in a very small town an hour from Stuttgart.) I just got off the phone with the city clerk in my former town in Wisconsin, and she suggested I drive to a consulate. I guess that would be Munich or Frankfurt, which is ridiculous. I'm considering driving to Tübingen this week to see if I can spot an American student who might be willing to witness my ballot.

I have also just contacted my local Ausländeramt to ask if they know of other Americans in the area.

I am not looking for on-going contact - I just need one person to sign this blinking ballot certification after watching me mark my ballot. Is there anyone here in Herrenberg, Tübingen, or somewhere near those towns who would be willing to be my witness?

Thank you, Wisconsin, for making absentee voting almost too much a hassle to be worth it...
Thanks!

You should be able to find Americans at Panzer Kaserne in Boblingen if nothing else.

Thank you! I had no idea there were still American troops in Stuttgart. I think I have found a solution (with another blogger's help). She told me there's an international school in Sindelfingen, and I can get there via train and S-Bahn (Thank goodness, because driving in Germany is way too friggin' scary).

Admins, go ahead and remove this thread, since I am most likely the only Wisconsinite in Germany without American friends in my near vicinity to witness my absentee ballot! :-)