New Member Introduction

Hi all.
Dave and Trish here from Edmonton, on our way back to Ottawa, then off to Belize end of Nov first of Dec to spent some time in-country to see if it is the lifestyle we can live with.
Internet research and pictures, just don't cut it like being there and doing it!
I come from a management background, but I am also a certified mechanic, which I did for 25 yrs before moving in to management in the power sport and marine industry.
Not just ready to retire yet, but we are both tired of the cold Canadian winters and need to see if the sub tropics work for us.
Wife has a dream of opening a bar/diner of some sort, but we will see if that happens.
If not, back to Ottawa and on with a boring cold life..................
The way we are looking at is, two months in Belize should help with the decision, if not it was a nice holiday before going back to the rat race.
Dave and Trish

Make sure you see all parts as this small size country  it is deceiving in how different it can be within 20 miles. Also you should be hitting the better part of the year for weather. the rainy season can be really more than a lot of people are prepared for. This year has been a particularly wet one. Opening a bar or similar is a popular idea but location is everything and it is unlikely to make much more than a simple living. The rules for working and getting permits for everything are quite involved and you will find several threads on this forum covering a lot of them. If you just end up with a wonderful extended vacation Belize is well worth your visit.(IMHO)

Dave & Trish,

Yes come on down to Belize. You will both love it here. I was sitting by my Canadian friends pool yesterday, drinking a beer and relaxing in the 82 degree sunshine - eat your heart out - lol.
Lots of Canadians here in Cayo.
I don't know about running a bar though. I did that years ago and swore I would never do it again.