TAX US Expat

Can any of you recommend a Tax preparer/advisor in the US for US national who has experiences with preparing taxes for US contractor working abroad.

[Moderated: no free ads pls]

That's why I hate the U.S.  They tax you to death.  Not many countries make you pay tax on earnings made abroad.  Would love to renounce my U.S. citizenship and live in Kuwait forever.

From what I understand, you can qualify for foreign earned income exclusion if you are in Kuwait for a full tax year (Jan 1-Dec 31) OR if you spend 330 days in Kuwait within any 12-month period (for example, if I arrive August 1 and do not return to the U.S.--vacation to other countries don't count) until July 1, then anything I make that year will not be taxed by the U.S.?

Can anyone tell me if that is correct? I got this information straight from the U.S. revenue service link below:

[link under review]

Thanks,

Tom

Hi Tom,

You are correct.  I am a CPA so I know a little about this.  In order to take advantage of the tax exclusion for 2012, you will have to file an extension so that you meet the 1 year/330 day requirement as of the date you file.  That way you will be able to take advantage of the 2012 exclusion for the part of the year you were abroad.  It is a straight pro-ration for the number of days you were not in the U.S.  You can file any time after you meet the 1 year/330 day test up until October 15 (with the 6 month extension) and qualify for the pro-rated exclusion.

off topic...if I made less than $95000 abroad do I still need to pay?

MeInQ8,

from what I understand, yes; the $95,000 seems to be the upper limit for the foreign earned income tax exclusion. If you make less than that, you still need to spend 330 days outside the US within a 12-month period to be tax-free.

Tom

Thanks, Nomad12,

I hadn't figured out how to work the 12-month requirement; filing an extension makes sense. I appreciate your help.

Tom

tjp,