How much would it be to ship a car to the island

thank you for the warm welcome. Well, my name is Ivette and I am in the process of moving back to 🇵🇷 after 35 years. I left Bayamon when I joined the Army in 1986. And now, my 3 children are adults with homes, careers, and families of their own. I am an empty nester and I'm ready to enjoy the rest of my life. I purchased a home near my Comadre in Toa Baja, not where I originally wanted to buy but, I was persuaded and it's kinda growing on me. So, now I will be close to someone I know. I've been renovating the house for nearly two years (good help is hard to find). It was a wreck but I'm working on it and making it my own and to my liking. I am now at the stage where I need to try and figure out if I should ship my vehicle, sell it, or just buy one when I finally arrive for good. I did some browsing but I feel the vehicles are way overpriced. Not to mention the IVU. Does anyone know approximately how much it would be to ship a car to the island and what the process is for picking it up en la aduana ($$$). Any information would be very helpful and much appreciated.
You can go to the website below & it walks you thru some of the areas. You pay a tax based on blue book value using VIN.
relocatepuertorico.com/a-guide-to-shipping-or-buying-a-car-in-puerto-rico/

It's a selling shipping service but there's good free information in a lot of it along with forms & some websites.

@fredicastro    theres a fb group also called pr expats (residents) where many people report their actual experience with shipping vehicles here. that might help. for instance, we found out there are some services that let you fill your vehicles with your belongings, which can save alot of hassle with shipping. on the other hand, there are lots of factors concerning how quickly you can get your vehicle processed at the incoming port and that info could be helpful too.  best of luck. -tori

Hi fredicastro,

Welcome to expat.com!