Building / Remodeling in Uruguay

I'm wanting to get an introduction to the building landscape within Uruguay.
I guess the first question is about ownership: my understanding is that foreigners can own real estate in Uruguay (ie: take title).  If this is the case, what do I need to know here?  I've got a building background so may be interested in learning more about the environment to fix up a house or build on a plot of land. 

If anyone can start pointing me in the right directions, and/or just introduce me to an English speaker in the field, I'd really appreciate it.  My background is engineering so although my Spanish language is poor, I may have some interest in utilizing this skillset/background after I arrive.

Hi Passthebasketball, if you google  Inmobiliaria Uruguay, that will lead you to a selection of real estate agents. Foreigners may own real estate and there is always plenty of houses and land for sale. You will need to add about 9% to the sale price for fees and taxes.

Gracias ColoniaMan.

I bought a plot of land about 12 years ago with the intention of building on it. I saw a house that I liked and asked the architect how much the construction costs would be. I was advised about US$100,000 and saw a similar house already built and sitting on 1,000 sq meters for US$125,000 so that was a pretty good estimate. I found a builder through the real estate agent and asked for an estimate based on a smaller version, the idea being that starting from a low base, I could get an idea of how it could be elaborated. After much stalling, he came back with a price of $160,000. A similar house sitting on a small plot could be bought for about US$55,000 so caveat emptor. I decided to buy a house and leave the plot as a garden/orchard. That could be an occupation for you, either construction from scratch or renovations.

Have you seen anything that you like yet?

@passthebasketball How has your search been going?