Hello

Hi all, my name is Mark. I moved to Romania in April 2011. I'm looking for contacts/friends/work.

Hi Mark,

What line of work are you in?

Hi Maykal, I'm a qualified engineer and teacher. But I'll consider anything.

Hello Ghosthunter & welcome to Expat.com!

I hope that other members will help you.

I may suggest you the participative guide Life in Romania, it may contain useful articles.

Harmonie.:)

Hi Mark,

I think without knowing Romanian it'll be pretty hard to land a job with a mech eng company here, unless you are already employed by one back in the UK and are sent over on detachment. I don't know Campina well but I doubt there are many firms there who would need to employ a foreigner.

Your best bet might be to look for a faculty of mech eng and try them. They may have courses offered in English and might be interested in a teacher. Also in a town which has such a faculty you'd probably be able to top up your income by offering private tuition in the subject and/or in English language with a focus on mechanical engineering terms, helping students with projects, and stuff like that.

Here is a list of Mech Eng Unis in Romania:

University of Transylvania (Brasov)
University Politehnica (Bucharest)
Ovidius University (Constanta)
Stefan Cel Mare Uni (Suceava)
University of Petrosani (Petrosani)
University Petrol-Gaze (Ploiesti)
University of Pitesti (Pitesti)
University Tehnica (Cluj-Napoca)
University 'Lucian Blaga' (Sibiu)

There are probably a few more. The closest to you are Brasov (about 40 miles north) and Ploiesti (25 miles south). Taking a look at their sites, I see that the one in Brasov has an automotive engineering course in English.