Immigrating from South Africa to New Zealand

My wife, two kids and I are considering the move and im wondering what the cost of living would be for a family of 4 in New Zealand. (Outside Auckland) I am a plumber. We are hoping to survive on my salary with my wife possibly working half days as an accountant/book keeper
Is this realistic?
Thank you.
Kelvin

Welcome to the forum.

For living costs www.numbeo.com.

As a tradesman you will have to sit an exam here to qualify to be able to work at your trade. Tradesmen are needed here but the Covid-19  crisis has made it very difficult, if not impossible for companies to bring in overseas tradesmen.

Go to "Discover" at the top of this page and open the New Zealand Guide for information.

Also read other posts here on the forum for information as this has been covered before.

Good luck.

Thank you for the info @Stumpy.
Im aware of an exam to be able to work/convert qualifications.
I will look into it.
Take care
Kelvin

I had a look at the stats Stumpy and it would take me a while to figure it all out 🙈.
Im hoping someone in a similar situation could let me know if its possible to support a family of 4 on a plumbers wage?

Thank you again!

Kelvin

I suggest you type " plumbers wage NZ" into your search engine for information then check this against costs.

NZ wages are low and costs are high.

Ok.

Maybe im a bit confused. So there are no ex South Africans in New Zealand on this forum?

NZ wages are low and costs high?
Doesnt sound inviting.

Thanks

Hi Kevin.
While NZ is a beautiful country to live in, it can be considered one of the most expensive places to also live in.