TransferWise

I've been using TransferWise for two years now, matter of fact I've had 51 transfers with them . I know some of you other Expats use TransferWise.

Usually the money comes within a couple hours, now I checked on my recent transfer and they tell me it will be take four days. After two days it hasn't left my bank account in the states.

Now my question to you Expats using TransferWise. . . . . Have you recently had delays on your transfers?

Hi
I haven't used Transferwise for a while. I have sometimes experienced delays. These were always related to my Philippine bank. Transfers to Hong Kong and to UK have always been  without delay and often much faster than the estimated transfer time.

The Transferwise app shows how the transfer is progressing and hence where the transaction is held up.

Steve

BassMan_720 wrote:

Hi
I haven't used Transferwise for a while. I have sometimes experienced delays. These were always related to my Philippine bank. Transfers to Hong Kong and to UK have always been  without delay and often much faster than the estimated transfer time.

The Transferwise app shows how the transfer is progressing and hence where the transaction is held up.

Steve

I use western union.  I can get the money within 10 min at western union counter.

Richard Yan wrote:

I use western union.  I can get the money within 10 min at western union counter.

When I was in the states I used Western Union (higher fees) to send money to the Philippines.

What I'm doing now is a bank (USA dollar) to bank transfer (Philippines peso), via internet using TransferWise.

A side note about Western Union, when in the states I used them for 10 years, building up enough credits to get a $150 debit card. Then the fools sent me 30, $5 cards, I put them in the drawer not realizing they had a quick expiring date and  they expired. I tried contacting WU, (try that some time), repeated phone calls to a whole bunch of numbers (several hours), that I gave up in frustration.