Applying for social security, Carte Vitale, etc

As an expat in France, what is the order of for applying for the following - do I have it right?
Apply for SSN (aka NIR)
Get S1 form(??)
Apply for Carte Vitale
Receive temporary NIR
Receive permanent NIR
Register with Family doctor
Apply for CNI & SPI
Carte Vitale issued

Thank you!

Hi Gekritzl,

I was a student back then so the formalities were perhaps different.....what stage are you at ? Already contacted the CPAM ?

It takes courage to surf the hectic administrative french waves  :D but i have no doubt you will manage.

All the very best,
Anoushka

An answer summarizing your questions is no. Unless you are an employee of a French company or if you are opening a company in France.

However, you can ask for PUMA help
https://www.complementaire-sante-solida … e_puma.php

No, I'm still in the US and eventually when the pandemic is over and I'm in France I want to know the order in which I must apply for these things -
Apply for SSN (aka NIR)
Get S1 form (?)
Apply for Carte Vitale
Register with Family doctor
Apply for CNI & SPI
etc

Thank you!

Ok, in that case, have a look on this official website

https://www.cleiss.fr/index_en.html

Thanks! In all my searching I've never come across cleiss.fr - I'll check it out.

Thank you - that was almost entirely for workers, it wasn't much help. I'm retired and when I move to France, after I've been there 3 months  I'll need to apply for a social security number and a Carte Vitale, and get into the health system. I believe the order to do that is: Apply for SSN, Apply for Carte Vitale, Receive temporary NIR, then permanent NIR, Register with Family doctor, Apply for CNI & SPI, then eventually receive my Carte Vitale.

As a student, uni did most of the formalities for me. I had to get my titre de séjour, SSN before the carte vitale (as i needed my social security number to apply for carte vitale).

Have a look here, might be of some help