Making a career change

Hey guys,
I couldn't find any information on this so I thought I'd start a new thread.
Like many young expats in Vietnam, I moved over here to teach English. This was just a temporary financial move for me in order to clear my student loan.
One and a half years have now passed and I have achieved all of my financial goals, However I have managed to fall in love with this city in the process, which brings me to the reason for this post.

I am wanting to make a career change to wards my line of studies, which is finance. Can anyone give me any tips on finding a finance job as an expat in HCM? I have a degree in accounting and a PGDA in Management accounting. Does anyone know if it's possible for me to get a finance job here considering I have minimal experience?
I'm pretty lost here, any help will be greatly appreciated!

Contact some of the recruiters like Vietnam Works.

Colin is being nice.  Your options are slim and none and none just left the building.

SteinNebraska wrote:

Colin is being nice.  Your options are slim and none and none just left the building.

I could have sworn that was 'Slim'.

They look so much alike...

;)

My god you are correct. They do look similar but it was Slim heading out the door.

Seriously to the OP, without

A speaking Vietnamese
B having a lot of experience in a field
3 a skill set not readily available in the Vietnamese work pool

there really isn't much of any chance to get into "finance" in Vietnam.  Jobs are held for the Vietnamese population and can easily be filled by them at a much lower cost.  As an ex-pat English teacher you are filling option 3 above.  That's why you and a bazillion other expats are employed in Vietnam.  The bulk of the rest are either here based by their multi-national company or own a business.