Input and advice r.e villages

Hi all. I have been considering Bulgaria for a few years. Researched a lot (I thought). I came in March for a week to Bucharest, stayed in VT and visited various villages and houses driving hundreds of miles, north and south. I came home disappointed. Saw a few houses I liked but every village I looked at was dead, with no amenities, maybe one shop, and every drive to New searches was the same. Visited plovdiv, VT, yambol, stara zagora, varna, burgas, etc but not wanting city house, looking for house with land. Having a teenager, and grandchildren to think about I came home dismissing bg. Keep thinking about it though, I think I missed something and was looking in the wrong places but just didn't have time to see more. I did not travel around the Sofia region or towards the mountains or nearer the Greek borders. Would like to have input towards villages within an hour of Sofía (won't fly to Bucharest again!) that are alive with more than one shop, maybe a cafe or pub, school, com centre, communal pool even, few expats, transport links to Sofía a bonus. Thanks in advance.

Hello, if you are looking for a house with land, I would recommend to consider Popovo area.  People with children tend to settle in the village of Slavyanovo with working school, own train station and other amenities. I have chosen a quieter village of Palamartsa - all 2 schools are now closed, but it is only 10 minutes drive to Popovo with schools and all other facilities. The village itself has post office, library, 2 shops, bar, Thai restaurant/cafe, rumours of opening of another bar and bakery. Town of Popovo is on the main train route from Sofia to Varna. Quite a few expats from many countries are in the area.