Work Difficulties: What is expected from an ideal manager in Germany?

Hello everyone,

I am an experienced creative communications expert with almost a decade of experience up my sleeve. I come from the non-EU Eastern Mediterranean region and I moved to Berlin 3 years ago because of my German husband. From day one, I realized that I have to learn German to succeed, so I enrolled in classes to learn the language (currently I am at b2.2 level). I also enrolled at a reputable German university and got a second masters degree with an outstanding grade. I did everything that I can do to enter the job market successfully.

Soon after finishing my degree, I started applying to different jobs in the non-profit sector. Three months later, I was invited to interview for a position at a reputable transnational (inter-governmental) agency. I did not get the position that I coveted, but got offered a lesser-level job. The job is far below the managerial position that I had back home, but I took it because of the prestige that comes with working in the institution, which I thought would boost my CV-- part of my pledge to earn the trust of the market & start building a network.

Soon, I realized that my boss is a 28 year-old German woman (I am almost in my mid 30s). In Germany, 28-30 year olds have just finished their studies, or have done odd jobs, and an occasional short internship or two. And unlike 28 year olds in fiercely capitalist countries, they lack the maturity that comes with working systematically with a variety of people outside a university setting.