I was told I should consider visiting Vietnam

Hello All,

My name is Smitty and I live in Oklahoma City.  I am a 60 year old professional African-American male, retired Army veteran, and will soon retire from federal civil service (in about 2O months).  I am single and enjoy riding my motorcycles, shooting pool, playing chess and traveling.  I am not looking to permanently relocate out of the US, but am looking at traveling each year to a different country.  My intent is to go someplace different each year during the months of Dec - April and then return to Oklahoma City.  Primarily interested in moderately mild weather countries with friendly women:o).  I was told I should consider visiting Vietnam.  Any input or recommendations gladly welcome.

You picked the best months to visit Vietnam. Although I have seen temperatures over 100 F in Saigon as early as March.
The bikes in Vietnam aren't quite motorcycles. I have a 900 CC Honda that I'll miss when I go next month. But I'm afraid that bike would just get me into trouble over there.
I think there are groups that play chess in the parks.

That's a great plan, visit a new country every year. Naturally you would prefer countries that are friendly to retired, American, male veterans. There are certainly some countries that are not.
Young and old Vietnamese generally like Americans, especially in the south. Don't worry about grudges held from the war 40+ years ago. There are various climates in VN, Dec/Jan nice in south, colder in north, Feb starts the hot-dry season.

@OkSmitty
You're welcome to Vietnam forum.

If you travel to VN spend some time exploring this beautiful country, especially the smaller cities, far from the madding crowds of Hanoi and Saigon.

Cheers!