Student life in Berlin

Hello, everyone!

I am a student willing to do postgraduate studies in Berlin.

Here's my problem: in case I am not awarded a scholarship (pretty plausible, since the competition is huge), my budget will be really tight. Like really, really tight. I am making a plan what to do if that happens. This is what I came up with:

1. Food - 150 euros
2. Health insurance -  ~92 euros (required by the law)
3. Culture & Leisure time & Travelling - 120 euros
4. Other expenses - 30 euros

Total - 390-400 euros

Okay. I basically have two questions now.

a) Do you think my plan is realistic so far? Please bear in mind the following things:
- I didn't include a transport ticket on purpose (it's part of my Semesterticket which I pay separately; I have already found a way to finance that)
- I don't eat at the restaurants (if we exclude cheap fast food). Usually, I prepare the meals myself. Main ingredients will be milk, eggs, rice, vegetables, pasta etc. Hopefully, that shouldn't be too expensive.
- I would like to be able to travel at least once or twice per month. By traveling I don't mean one week trip to Paris, but rather a short 1-day excursion to some interesting city or town in Germany or maybe some neighboring country

b) Now the hard part. Accommodation. Google says that 400-450 euros should be enough to find a decent student room in Berlin. Unfortunately, as I already mentioned, my budget will be most likely extremely tight. I cannot afford more than 250-300 euros. I am a realistic guy. I know I can't find anything relatively close to the city center for that money. But I am ready to live outside the city (even in small towns near Berlin). My criteria are fairly simple:

- max 250-300 euros
- max. 40-45 mins from the TU Berlin
- location is part of either U-Bahn or S-Bahn system
- a separate room in the apartment, however small it is