Thinking about Buying property in Brazil?

Just reaching out to the community...please send me your experiences,doubts,plans,thoughts anything related to real estate in brazil that you would like to share and i can lend a hand..i have 12 years experience in the market (as a seller,buyer,company administrator,partner) with a wealth of specific knowledge and can help with any genuine queries you may have...

Thanks for the offer, Mike.  I do have a question.
My husband and I (he's Brazilian, I'm American) are in the process of buying an apartment.  It's a cash deal.  Our accountant has briefed us on the tax implications, and we're ok with them.  Our attorney has reviewed the documentation on the apartment, and found it complete and in order.  The civil engineer we called in for an inspection has given it and the building a clean bill of health.  All systems are "go!"
Here's my question.  The seller is telling us that, in a cash deal, we don't need a purchase and sale contract, that all we need to do is go to the Cartório together, register the sale, and re-register the property in our names.  How does that square with your experience in purchasing properties in Brazil?

Great to hear from you abthree !
You have 2 options in this case...
Go with a purchasing agreement to formalize the sale and make a 20% down payment.
After which you need to pay the transfer tax and get the paperwork processed through the cartorio before signing the deed and paying the balance..
OR
Pay the transfer tax,get the deed prepared and pay full amount (100%) on deed signing(with no need for purchasing agreement)
Is that about how you see it?
P.S what does your attorney say?
P.P.S what tax implications are involved?

Thanks for the quick response, Mike.