Considering a family move to Costa Rica

Hello all,

We area family of four with  2&4 year old in tow. Looking to simplify life but stay within a range that would allow us to do free homeschooling from the states since I've been reading about the expense of English schools abroad. I'm a dive master and feel I would be able to pick up a job doing so if we live in the right area but I know cost of coastal living is much higher. My husband is a firefighter and tree arborist with a great background in rope work which I thing could translate into a guide position for zip lining or other tourist activities. Trying to discover our abilities to have income after the move. I'm not tech savvy so looking for more manual positions. Just really want to simplify life and get out of the American rat race.

Suggest that if you haven't read the rules for living and working here legally, you should check the website out.
Firms are heavily fined for employing those with no work visas or is still a 'tourist'

mesmanaj wrote:

Hello all,

We area family of four with  2&4 year old in tow. Looking to simplify life but stay within a range that would allow us to do free homeschooling from the states since I've been reading about the expense of English schools abroad. I'm a dive master and feel I would be able to pick up a job doing so if we live in the right area but I know cost of coastal living is much higher. My husband is a firefighter and tree arborist with a great background in rope work which I thing could translate into a guide position for zip lining or other tourist activities. Trying to discover our abilities to have income after the move. I'm not tech savvy so looking for more manual positions. Just really want to simplify life and get out of the American rat race.

Hola Mesmanaj,

Welcome to Expat.com!