Seeking employment opps in Costa Rica

Greetings All -

I'm a newbie here.  The hubby and I are seeking a relocation to Costa Rica sometime in the near future; however, we are wondering how difficult it is to find work down there.  We will eventually wish to become residents, buy property and build a home - but the job is first!

Any advice on how to begin the search or where to look?

We are both fairly well educated; I have a Bachelors and he holds a Masters, but we aren't seeking to get rich - just enough to live comfortably down there.  We are both military veterans so we understand hard work.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

S. Jeffery

Give this previous post a read.  There are a few points that refer to your question.
Cheers .... Terry

Hi S. Jeffery,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

Thank you for this introduction.

You may also post an ad in the jobs in Costa Rica section.

All the best,
Christine
Expat.com team

Thanks for the info.  So, what about companies that will hire US citizens?  I am seeing alot of job seekers looking for work on the job site here, but not many updated jobs.  Where would one look to apply for jobs while we are still stateside?  Also, we had thought about someday buying a small business...is it possible ti sponsor ourselves? 

We just want to relocate to Costa Rica so badly, but we understand its going to takr some time. We are basically gathering info at the moment....or trying to find employment that will eventually lead us down there.

As for myself, pretty much anything administrative.  I am currently an Office Manager for a veterinary consulting business; however, I have also worked for a police department.  My Bachelor's degree is in Criminal Justice and was in charge of their warrants division, the evidence department, etc.  I have years of experience with computers, data entry, office managing, etc.  I am also a certified vet tech.