Teaching Salary in Mexico

Hi everyone!  I'm an experienced teacher currently living in the U.S.  I have been a bilingual teacher for 8 years here, and am considering moving to Mexico.  However, I'm unsure what teacher salary expectations I should have.  Does anybody know anything about how much American elementary school teachers can expect to earn in the Mexico?  Thanks!

Contact the school

I have.  I'm just trying to make sure I don't get taken advantage of as a foreigner.  ;)

I don't think they would take advantage, but perhaps you should contact other schools in more than one area

Hi CCartwright3:
My daughter and her husband, both experienced ESL teachers with four year degrees from U.S. universities, just wrapped up a year of teaching English in Guanajuato. While they absolutely loved Guanajuato, the school and their students, the money was so horrible , they finally decided to leave. They were tired of barely scraping by month after month. They're headed soon to Japan, where education is highly valued and teachers are very well paid. So don't come to Mexico for the money. Come for the experience, the wonderful people and the deep, rich culture. If that's not enough, then I strongly recommend you don't move here. Buena suerte...Barb

Thank you Barb!  I took a Spanish course in Guanajuato and loved it as well!  I am definitely not planning on going for the money lol.  My concern is the fact that I have credit cards and student loans that need to be paid off in USD, so thinking I can scrape by on a few thousand pesos a month is just wishful thinking.  Thanks again for that info!

I would consider the DOD or State Dept schools.

My daughter & son in law are in a similar position. Pretty deep credit card debt. They just went further down the financial rabbit hole while teaching in Mexico. Like I said, they loved it. But love doesn't pay the bills.  :)

http://www.latimes.com/world/worldnow/l … story.html