Help finding a car please

I have been following this group and it has been helpful so thank everyone for all the great info.
I arrived here a month ago, furniture just showed up so settled in house. BUT I can't seem to find a reliable cheap small suv or truck. And yes on classificados everyday. just meet with a really nice girl today who completely misrepresented her truck so It was a no go.
It doesn't need to be pretty just run for about a year without leaving me on the road. $1000-$3500 smaller truck suv automatic is fine but not preferred. A/C is  preferred or at least Windows that can roll down. Thanks.
Any leads would be appreciated.

Jess;

I hope you get some answers, I'll be in the same boat soon. I'm due to arrive at the end of August and I'll be needing a car as well. I'm a veteran so I called a credit union for veterans and asked about a loan to buy a car, I was thinking about something a little newer and more expensive. I'd like to have a few years without major repairs. I was going to ship a car but decided it wasn't worth the squeeze. It's a 2005 Toyota Matrix and for what it would cost to ship, I think I'd be better off buying another car when I got there. The credit union quoted me a used car loan for under 3%, I think that is a damn good rate if it's true. If not, and I needed to pay for a car outright, I'd be looking for something in the same price range you are hoping to pay.

Good luck and please let me know how it works out for you,

It's a hassle - lots of scammers and shady dealers out there.  I shopped for weeks without success . 

We rented a car for awhile, which is of course rather expensive, looked at used car lots and dealers without finding anything I wanted. 

By accident we spotted a van on the side of the road as we traveled on business.  The van was Se Vende by a private party.  Got the phone # from the for sale sign and called.  He brought the van to us for a test drive, looked good, ran good, so we bought it.