39 years old - to old to learn English ?

Sorry for my bad English, i am 39 years old, i don't use English many years after living University. Now i want to learn E to take EILTS 5.5 points  to help my job. It is possible? Is there any Vietnam women as my age want to learn English? My friends   don't encouraged my plan, they think my age can not learn language. And now i am confused, please give me advice. Thanks you so much

As an English teacher, I think you have courage to learn English, so you can do it. Even though, people say the older of age, the slower of learning something, I think it is really true because it depends on the teaching methods of the teacher too.

I see a lot of working people about your age learning English, and they are doing very well. If you want to do it, you get to do it now whilst your courage of learning Enlish still there :)

i met a frence teacher on last Tuesday at cafe, he's probably over 60, but still learning english :D

There are many people older then you learning English, as you said you used English before so its a case of just picking it back up.

All it takes is

Passion and Dedication~~~~~~~~~~~to accomplish your goal (S)

Good Luck!

There is no age  restriction to learn language  :)
It's IELTS. Of course you will get more than 5.5 score if you work hard.

Stop thinking about anything else and start learning from now :)
Just have some dedication towards learning a language, you will find so many doors opened for you . At least , you have basic knowledge of English..  and age doesn't matter for learning anything.
Wish you good luck :)

Hello Maria,

You're never too old to learn any new language, you just have to want to do it.

I've been teaching English for 25 years now and seen many success stories. The only people who don't manage to learn English are the ones who really don't want to! Usually it's their boss who is making them take a course. They'll never learn because they just don't care to.