Tax and business set up for Colombia/USA

Hi - I incorporated a business in the US several years ago when I lived there. I'm not a US citizen or green card holder.

I now live in Colombia and business has been good with a stable list of clients, mostly in the US. Now I want to hire people in Colombia and work with companies in Colombian and other Latam countries.

Is anyone in a similar position to me or can point me to a tax advisor? Should I set up a SAS? Really want to minimize both my tax liability and administrative overheads.

I am an online marketing consultant in case anyone wants to either hire me or work for me.

Thanks - John

Hi John,

I am acquainted with an accountant in Cali. I don't know if he would be the right person to advise you, but I sent him a message asking if he is interested in helping you.

If I get a positive response do you want me to connect you with him?

Here's a brief statement about his qualification.

Contador Público con Especialización en Derecho Financiero de la Universidad Externado de Colombia. Conferencista a nivel nacional sobre Riesgos en el Sector Financiero: Operativo; Lavado de Activos, Crediticio, Reputacional. Profesor Universitario : Universidad Santiago de Cali; Universidad Libre Cali. Conferencista sobre IFRŽs (NIIF)

Regards,
Raymond

Ray - that is very generous of you thanks.

I would definitely be interested in speaking with that accountant.

Let me know if you'd like to have lunch some time. I work out of Parque El Peñon en the west of Cali.

Saludos - Johnny

OK. I sent Carlos an email describing what you need and wait for his reply.

As for lunch, that sounds nice. Thanks for the invitation. It would have to be mid-November before I could accept.

Regards,
Ray

@CaliRay : Please write only in english on this anglophone forum.

Thank you

Priscilla
Expat.com team

John,