Moving to Amsterdam from Sydney, Australia

Hey all,

I'm considering a move to Amsterdam later this year but am finding it hard to find some answers to a few questions I've got.

- What's the cost of living like?
- I'm a graphic designer by trade - are these types of jobs hard to get?
- Is it hard to find work?
- How much adequate funds do I need to have saved?
- Any other tips or things to know about living there?

I know there's a few questions there but some help would be really, really appreciated!

Hi there, I don't think I can be of much help but I can try :D

I have no idea about graphic design jobs, so sorry. However I currently live in Amsterdam so perhaps I can help with living expenses. Renting in Amsterdam is pretty expensive and its hard to find places. I pay 300 euros a month for one room, and that is pretty cheap. Have a look here at prices:

http://www.funda.nl/huur/  (you should be able to navigate through the dutch- there are lots of pictures :D)

Further living costs are average, obviously expensive as its western europe. Further tips would be to learn as much of the language before you move as that will make it smoother. I don't think I am being very helpful but Amsterdam is a really cool city so I hope you manage the move :)

Hi!

I hear you! I am in Melbourne and I am also thinking of doing the same thing. I am turning 30 this year and I'm freaking out and want to go to Amsterdam for some adventure and a nice change - I need to do something different other than the hum drum here. I once visited three days and swore I would return.

I am busy looking around to find out what the job market is like over there for those in the area of design/online marketing - if I find anything useful I will let you know! Here I have a job doing print design and graphic design and online marketing, so don't want to go there is the opportunities are going to be hard to come by BUT I REALLY WANT TO GO!!!!... I also wonder what it would be like doing freelance work?