Getting a work permit thru future employer? - spontaneous prospection

Hi everyone,

I am planning a big exploration trip to Quebec for more than 6 weeks this summer. I am planning to do some prospection, get professionnal contacts and try to get intervieuws.
I have a master degree in social sciences but I have more experiences in administration (I have worked for three years as a secretary at the European Commission) and guest service (experience of 3 years in hotels and 2 years as a cabin crew on board of the Eurostar train). I am interested in any organsation that would be involved in any social - public - international affairs and I am also interested in any organisation in the field of tourism  and hospitality. I have seen that "management assistant" is a job that is looked for (in french, secrétaire de direction ou adjointe)
As the only possibility for me for the moment, to get a work permit would be thru the promess from an employer, do you think this is possible if I go and prospect the market very spontanneously? Do you have stories from people who have found a job like that?

Thanks in advance, Anne-Laure

Hi kosmonette,

Welcome to Expat.com :)

I suggest you post an advert or your resume in the Hotel, catering, bar, restaurant and tourism jobs in Quebec section please :)

Good luck :)

Thank you

Maximilien
Expat-blog Team

Hi,

There are confusingly many ways to get work visas here.
I just met a few students on special one-year work visas I've never heard of before :-)

Finding an employer that agrees to hire you, and help with the paperwork is a great start!

Thank both of you for your replies.
Unfortunately, I am too old for the one-year working visa (it is only available until 30 for belgian citizens, french are more lucky because it is until 35 in their case)

I will have a look a t the section on tourism jobs.

All the best

Hi kosmonette,