Interesed in Retiring In Panama

My husband and I are both disabled veterans pulling in more than $2k each.  We are looking into retiring to Panama and would like any information available. We don't have much more in retirement income, so we would definitely need the cheaper areas to settle.

We would like to be in the dryer climate.  Our ideal is beachfront property with a possible casita to rent out (if this is even possible for us).  Looking to be 1 hr or less from Panama City for the airport.

We thank everyone for their advice.

Hey Sktls67,

I am also a disabled vet. I lived in Gorgona for about a month with the beach across the road. I do not know what state you are living in, but I found the property prices in this area about the same they are in Colorado. There are a lot of expats in this area and it is about 1 hour from the airport.

I do not know what cheaper is for you but living off of $4k a month can easily be done in that area, depending on your lifestyle of course. Again, I am from Colorado and to me Panama is NOT a dry climate. When close to the ocean the humidity will be higher.

I would recommend doing what I did and rent a house and a car for a month or two. Then drive all over the place to find the right area of Panama that is more appealing to you. Then go back home and think about if this is what you really want to do then return to that area and stay longer.

If you have never been in Panama I would really recommend this approach. My fiancee is Panamanian and after returning back to PC it was even a shock to her after being absent for so many years. One of the standard recommendations you will get a lot is rent for 6 months before buying. What I have seen in Panama this is very wise advice. For such a small country there is a lot of diversity in everything.