I got a job offer to work in one of the island resort in Maldives

Hello Everyone, I a newbie here. I got a job offer to work in one resort in Maldives. This is my first time to work abroad, I am excited at the same time afraid. It'll be a one year contract. I don't know if I can stay that long, am afraid of homesickness, I am also afraid if the accommodation is not comfortable. There are a lot of questions in my mind that left unanswered. Please help! Any relevant information regarding the island life is very much appreciated. Thank you

Hello Babygail,

Welcome to Expat.com! :)

I hope you will get answers to your questions very soon.

You may view other discussions on the Maldives forum.

Best of luck,
Christine

Hello Babygail! We are on the same boat :) I believe we have to process our Overseas Employment Certificate, Valid Passport (12 months expiration upon date of entry in Maldives), Medical Certificate & attend the PDOS by OWWA. Have you processed any of these already?

God speed and have an awesome journey to Maldives! (Same to me :D)

Happysunnyboard, do you have mobile number? Can I have it

Hi Babygail,

May I know what is the name of the resort? And when do you expect to go to Maldives?

I sent you a private message. Check it out! thank you :)

Dear Babygail,

I have been working for some years in the Maldives, and I know basically how every resort works in this part of the planet :)

There are good resorts, where you can really grow as a person, professionaly and personally speaking; others will be a total waste of your time, so you have to be very careful at the time of choosing the right property.

There are also a lot of employees, like you, who decide to change jobs, and move to another resort, once they are here, so keep this in mind in case youŽre not happy.